Former Departments


Director: Prof. David Poeppel, PhD

The Department of Neuroscience under the direction of David Poeppel existed from 2014–2021. It worked on the neurobiology of hearing, language processing, and music, including the dimensions of aesthetic experience.

Research Group Neural and Environmental Rhythms

Research Group Leader: Molly Henry, PhD

The Research Group Neural and Environmental Rhythms existed from 2019–2024 and was led by Molly Henry. Researchers in the group took a dynamical systems approach to understanding brain–environment synchrony, conceptualizing and modeling brain rhythms as generated by neural oscillators.

Language and Literature

Director: Prof. Dr. Winfried Menninghaus

The Department of Language and Literature under the direction of Winfried Menninghaus existed from 2013–2022. It worked on the aesthetically relevant features and the aesthetic perception as well as the evaluation of linguistic utterances and texts, with a specific focus on literature.